Berry Chocolate Protein Shake

berries1

Everyone loves smoothies, am I right? 🙂

.. At least, everyone SHOULD love smoothies. With the near-endless selection of ingredients, there seems to be something for everyone.

Some people are fruit purists, others are brave enough to venture into savoury territory. Personally, I prefer protein powder and berries; and boy, am I fussy about my protein powder.

I made the mistake of buying a cheap vanilla whey protein the other day. The texture is nice and silky but whenever a company tries to put in that artificial ‘french vanilla’ scent or flavor, I just can’t stand it. It’s like some sort of Alice-repellent. I’m considering ordering a whole bunch of samples of vanilla protein online just to find one I like. Being fussy does have its expense.

One protein powder I HAVE been able to tolerate, and for many years, is the VEGA protein line.

Even if you’re not vegan (I was for 4 years, but began eating meat again after I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism), the combination of pea and hemp protein is very palatable. In fact, I prefer it to whey.

There are sample packs of the stuff just about everywhere; health food stores, grocery stores.. I love a good sample pack.

However, if alternative protein ain’t your thing, feel free to chuck a scoop of whey into this recipe. But while you’re at it, tell me your favourite protein in the comments. Maybe I’ll give it a try 🙂

cup8

Berry Chocolate Protein Shake

  • 1 scoop Vega Choc-a-Lot instant smoothie
  • 1 cup milk of choice (I used lactose-free cow milk, but try using goat or nut if you’d like!)
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 tbsp chocolate syrup (I use 25% reduced sugar. Regular would likely work, but you might need to reduce the amount so it’s not too sweet.)
  • 4 ice cubes
  1. Add ingredients to blender; liquid first, followed by protein powder, and then berries, syrup, and ice.
  2. Blend until smooth.
  3. Pour into your favourite cup (my to-go container kind of looks like a sippy cup, doesn’t it? haha) and enjoy!

Nutritional info using 2% milk and reduced-sugar syrup: 332 calories, 8g fat (3g saturated), 191mg sodium, 49g carbohydrates, 7.5g fiber, 36g sugar, and 18g protein

Leave a Reply

