Bacon-Wrapped Asparagus

With all the cakes and desserts I’ve been posting lately, I figured I might as well level my blog out by posting another recipe for vegetables. This one is quite simple, similar to the popcorn broccoli that I’ve been making for a while now.

I find the easiest and best ways to have vegetables are not to fool with them too much. Of course, I do enjoy the odd way-too-time-consuming vegetable dish such as maple-butter carrots, or scalloped potatoes, but I honestly can’t think of more than a handful of times I’ve bothered cooking that way. Mr. Cake’s family steams their vegetables, usually with no salt at all, and I tend to prefer that.

However, when I want a bit of a treat, I tend to lean towards adding just a smattering of bacon or cheese to my vegetables (rather than boiling them in broth or roasting them with just a drizzle of oil, which is what I usually do). Or butter, like I do with broccoli.

This recipe was inspired by the time we decided to order groceries online from a local organization in Edmonton that sold things like local bacon. We kept ordering local bacon and I had to find things to do with it. We have since stopped ordering after a little fiasco with a whole bunch of bug eggs being sent in our organic brussels sprouts (yes, there are times I am willing to try organic — unfortunately, sometimes it ends that way, and I feel that is my punishment), but we still do, of course, buy bacon.

And as long as we have bacon, we will hopefully have..

Bacon-Wrapped Asparagus:

  • A 1.5″ bundle of asparagus (4-8 spears, depending on size) per person
  • 1 slice of bacon per person
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • toothpicks
  1. Preheat oven to 400*C.
  2. Trim about 1-2″ off the end of the asparagus. Toss with a drizzle of olive oil, some salt, pepper, and separate into individual bundles.
  3. Wrap with bacon, securing each end with a toothpick.
  4. Bake for 12 minutes.

Nutritional info per bundle: 76 calories, 5g fat (1.5g saturated), 8mg cholesterol, 4g carbohydrates, 2g fiber, 1g sugar, and 5g protein

Leave a Reply

